eBook: The Forbidden Manuscript

This book is in the vein of The DaVinci Code, and I chose to create the design for it as something more than an average mass-market item.

Read more


Assignment: Earth eBook

"Assignment: Earth" aired in the spring of 1968 as the last episode of the second season of the original Star Trek. It began, however, as a completely separate pilot script by Gene Roddenberry almost two years earlier.

Read more


Iron Man in HD

Perfection Ain't Perfect (or The Scourge of Hyphens)

I was in the Sony Store in the mall, looking for replacement rubber tips for my in-ear headphones. While the guy went in the back to retrieve this low-demand, low-cost-but-easy-to-steal item, I watched a bit of Iron Man in high-def Blu-ray on a big Bravia.

Read more


Think Different Wallpapers OG

Think Different: Here's to the Crazy Ones

The Think Different campaign by TBWA\Chiat\Day\Los Angeles for Apple Computer in 1997 is the campaign that shows us advertising can be done for the right reasons and it can benefit the society it speaks to, not merely distract us and part us from our money. Think Different delivered on its promise by promoting a computer that was unlike anything else at the time.

Read more


Look Out

I've never had much use for religion. My parents were not religious. It wasn't that we were atheists. We had some sort of generalised belief that there was something more than this. It just seemed wrong to deny that there was more than the life we have. Like we would be eliminating the idea of possibilities.

Read more


Brother MFC-6490CW OG

He Ain't Eight-and-a-Half by Eleven, He's My Brother

It's been a time of reassessing my creative work, brought on by a change of company back at the end of September 2009. In some ways it's meant jettisoning some things that have been gathering dust on my shelves for many years. In others, it's meant investing in some new tools.

Read more


eBook: John Carter of Mars · Return to Barsoom

I'm happy to announce the release of my first novel, Return to Barsoom, a modern look at Edgar Rice Burroughs' John Carter of Mars. Burroughs began his series of 11 books with A Princess of Mars in 1912, and ended with The Skeleton Men of Jupiter in 1942.

Read more


Kimble Enterprise OG

The Perils of Choice

The grade nine science trip to Calgary was pretty cool. Four-and-a-half hours by school bus (without seatbelts, woohoo) from Cranbrook to Calgary at some god awful early hour. A visit to the planetarium, another to the zoo, and a stop at a shopping centre (I think it was Chinook, but I can't really recall), and then four-and-a-half hours in the school bus back across the mountains. It was a very, very long day.

Read more


The Exploration Of Space OG

The Exploration of Space by Arthur C. Clarke

A few years ago, I approached a publisher of space books with the idea of producing a series of volumes that would reprint the most important texts of the space age. The publisher passed, citing it being outside their business model, and they weren't set up to work with outside designers. I still think it's a good idea.

Read more


Chandler Adams The Lady In The Lake 2 OG

The Lady in the Lake by Raymond Chandler

This is the third, and probably final, post about Tom Adams' paintings for the works of Raymond Chandler. Below is how The Lady in the Lake appeared when published. Adams left a quiet space at the top of each composition for the title and byline, and in those days that was all that was needed (no excessive marketing text).

Read more


Philip K Dick Bio

eBook: The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick

My favourite novel was written by Philip K. Dick and first published in 1962. The Man in the High Castle won the 1962 Hugo award, the Oscars of science fiction, for best novel of the year.

Read more


Timex Commercial OG

A long time ago, in a lake far, far away…

So, that summer I was 10 and I found the watch in Peckham's Lake outside Cranbrook, BC. Dad said Timex might be interested in hearing about it, so I wrote them a letter and they got back to me.

Read more


Chandler Symons Adams Great Detectives Marlowe OG

The Great Detectives by Julian Symons & Tom Adams

A decade after painting covers for Raymond Chandler's stories and novels, Adams teamed up with crime novelist Julian Symons. This book was written as a "Whatever Happened to…" for famous fictional detectives. Symons gains an interview with the real 'Marlowe,' the one Chandler fictionalised.

Read more


The Brave and the Bold Animated OG

Batman : The Brave & The Bold

If you want to have a whole lot of fun packed into 30 minutes or less, watch an episode of the new Batman: The Brave & the Bold TV series on Cartoon Network in the US and on Teletoon in Canada. You also might find it – ahem – on the web while we await a DVD package.
Read more


James Bond 01 Casino Royale OG

James Bond : The 1960s Pan Covers and Raymond Hawkey

This stunning series of James Bond covers were the paperback presence of Ian Fleming's character during the height of its fame in the 1960s and the Sean Connery films. There were millions of copies printed so that by the time I started collecting in the late 70s/early 80s, these were still the most-common editions to be found, even though other cover designs had succeeded them.

Read more


Chandler Adams 1 Trouble Is My Business OG

Raymond Chandler Covers by Tom Adams

Tom Adams is one of the most accomplished cover artists of the past 50 years. He's better known for his long-running series of Agatha Christie book covers, but my favourites are the ones he did for the works of Raymond Chandler. These were the 1971 series of paperbacks from Ballantine Books. If Vintage Books (the current Chandler publisher) were to re-release these as oversized trade paperbacks, I'd buy the whole set.

Read more


Craftint Duotone Tones OG

Craftint and Duoshade Tones in Photoshop

Craftint doubletone paper (DuoShade is another brand) is one of those things an ink illustrator had in their toolbox before the advent of the digital toolset or even rubdown tone systems like Zip-a-Tone. It wasn't cheap and it gradually fell out of use.

Read more


Warlord Skartaris Feature

Defending Skartaris

If you blinked, relatively speaking, you probably missed it. Beginning in February 2006 with an April cover date, DC revived The Warlord. This time around the book lasted 10 issues. (The original had 133 and went through a number of ups and downs during the run.)

Read more


Analog Science Fiction OG

Science Fiction Pulps

I recently attended ConVersion here in Calgary and found a fellow selling old science fiction pulps in great condition.

Read more


Steinbeck Grapes Of Wrath OG

John Steinbeck Illustration

A gift for my father who is a very big John Steinbeck fan. I've only read a few of Steinbeck's books myself, but The Grapes of Wrath should be required reading by anyone who aspires to have a social justice conscience.

Read more